Tuesday, April 29, 2008

Getting Lost With Names – Sta. / Santa Fe

This topic started with this article

There are 4 towns.

First is the town of Sta. Fe in the province of Nueva Vizcaya (Region 2). This town at the southwestern border of the province with Pangasinan and Nueva Ecija just at the end of that dizzying zigzag road called Dalton Pass.

Then there is the town of Sta. Fe on the southern tip of the province of Romblon (Region 4B). There are beaches and islets plus the trail up that mountain called Calatong.

The third Sta. Fe is a town on Bantayan Island, Cebu (Region 7). Yes this is where boats, fast crafts and ROROs arrive from mainland Cebu. Like the two other towns on the island (Madridejos and Bantayan), Sta. Fe is a beach town and gets to full capacity during Holy Week.

Lastly, there is also a town named Sta. Fe in the province of Leyte (Region 8). This Sta. Fe is a landlocked farming community adjacent to Tacloban, Palo. I do like afternoon runs to Ormoc from Tacloban where passing by this town always has great sunsets by the rice fields.

Four towns, all named Sta. Fe!

Alright, lets go to Santa Magdalena…

1 comment :

  1. Santa Fe's old name is Catolog. I guess Catolog is a nice and indigenous name.