Sunday, February 18, 2007

Getting Lost With Names - Concepcion

This topic started with this article

Oh Concepcion! There are four towns that bear this name. Two are in Luzon, one is in the Visayas and the last one is in Mindanao.

The first Concepcion is in the province of Tarlac (Region 3 – Central Luzon). It is in fact its biggest municipality. It sits just below Tarlac City and borders with the provinces of Nueva Ecija and Pampanga. The place being in a river basin is agricultural and has a lot of haciendas. Oh yes, this place was the birthplace of Ninoy Aquino.

The next Concepcion is a tiny island municipality in the province of Romblon (Region 4B – MIMAROPA). It has only 9 barangays and population is just about 5 thousand! This island town is white sandy beaches all around. But alas, it’s out of the way! There has to be some unique fantastic things there before most tourists flock and gruel the boat ride from Pinamalayan in Oriental Mindoro. It’s even hard to get to this place from the capital, Romblon! Because of that, the hills are still lush, the caves unexplored and some trek routes less trodden! Cellular communications in this island is accidentally care of a cell site in Mindoro and not Romblon!

The 3rd Concepcion is a town in the northeastern portion of the province of Iloilo (Region 6 – Western Visayas). The town is interestingly composed of a group of islands aside from its mainland proper. This is mainly an agricultural and fishing village but there are already many things for tourists. Beach resorts, mountain trails, caves, historical landmarks, corals, etc., abound. Watch out for an island called Agho as a rare bird can be found there laying outsized eggs!

The 4th and last Concepcion is a town in the hinterlands of the province of Misamis Occidental (Region 10 – Northern Mindanao). Being on a big mountain, the place has a Tagaytay or Baguio kind of climate with still a lot of forests. Not yet fully developed for the tourist, this place is better visited via a day tour from the capital city Oroquieta.

There we are 4 very distinct towns all sporting the name Concepcion.


  1. Concepcion? Then people will think it is in Tablas island or the present day Santa Maria town also called Concepcion. The island municipality on the other hand is popularly known Sibale and its people are clamoring for it being its original and popular name. I suggest another name, perhaps "Xibale"? There is no other municipality in the Philippines starting with letter 'X' making it unique.

  2. I like the idea... Xibale... or even Zibale :)