Sunday, March 16, 2008

Getting Lost With Names – San Manuel

This topic started with this article

There are three San Manuels and be careful with going to these towns. Make sure you identify where you are headed since they are all northbound destinations from the Metropolis. Let’s start from the left.

San Manuel is the northernmost town of the province of Tarlac (Region 3 – Central Luzon). This is an agricultural town that boasts of ampalaya (bitter melon or momordica charantia) and all its derivative products.

However, just three towns in between is another San Manuel, this time in the northwestern tip of the province of Pangasinan. Yep, this is that town where you find the big San Roque Dam. And who does not know about Butao Spring Resort hehe! This San Manuel is the rice granary of the province!

Yet further up northeast and beyond the Caraballo and the Cordillera mountains is another town of the same name, San Manuel in the province of Isabela (Region 2). This town formerly called Callang was named San Manuel in 1952. Being relatively flatlands, this town is also a rice producing area.

Thus, next time you’re headed for San Manuel, be very sure which San Manuel that is. One is in Tarlac, another is in Pangasinan and yet another in Isabela (yes, Isabela the province up north, not the city down south aaargh)! So don’t just go the Victory liner and say you’re going to San Manuel, aight?!


Post a Comment