Sunday, March 9, 2008

Getting Lost With Names – San Luis

This topic started with this article

There are four towns in the Philippines named San Luis.

First, the town of San Luis in Pampanga is a historic one. It has a big ancient church and all its 17 barangays are named after saints! The boss of the HUKBALAHAP movement purportedly is from this town and in the early times (actually until now) this is the domain of the Elizalde businesses!

Far to the east still in this region is another town of San Luis in the province of Aurora and one of its biggest actually. There are springs, falls, beaches and a beautiful bay. This is the resort town that welcomes you on your way to Baler.

Our 3rd San Luis is a town in the province of Batangas and is also a resort town with diving facilities though not very popular on the list of people from the metropolis.

Then there is the landlocked town of San Luis far down south in the province of Agusan Del Sur (Region 13 – Caraga). Hop in there for genuine tribal rituals during the planting and harvest seasons. Rattan crafts are also good to at least see being manufactured in this town.


Post a Comment