Sunday, February 11, 2007

Getting Lost With Names - Compostela

This topic started with this article

Compostela. Yes we know it is a province in Region 11 – Southern Mindanao, and a new one at that. This is that province straddling between the two Davao Provinces and it is commonly referred to by locals as “ComVal”.

But within this province named Compostela, there is a town also named Compostela! So you’d think its normal as in the Tarlac, Tarlac or Iloilo, Iloilo or Masbate, Masbate thing! But alas, unlike the others, this town is not the capital of the province – its another town called Nabunturan! So Compostela town is just another town in Compostela Valley. Nevertheless, this town is worth a visit for nature lovers. Waterfalls and mountain treks are the main events here. So we have two Compostelas, one is a province and the other is a town within that province.

That’s not all! There is another town named Compostela and it is further up in the island province of Cebu (Region 7 – Central Visayas). Ah this town is still or already a part of Metro Cebu as it’s just nearby. And in fact, to its north is the city of Danao too. Together with Consolacion and Liloan towns, they are more of the suburban areas straddling between the cities of Danao and Mandaue! Too many housing villages are sprouting everywhere. Then again, there is Estaka and Stakili. And I love the Q-Park!


Post a Comment